Top ten Biggest counties in Kenya

Biggest counties in Kenya, List of Top 10 is our area of focus in this article. First of all, Kenya has numerous counties that total to 47 in number. They were created after the Referendum elections of the new constitution in 2010. However, most of the citizens do not know which is the smallest or the largest county in Kenya.

Largest counties in Kenya

Firstly, counties are geographical units that were created after the amendment of the Constitution of Kenya. Most importantly, the powers are provided in Articles 191 and 192 of the Kenyan constitution. Again, the counties have sub-counties (constituencies) for the election of members of parliament, a Senator, and a women representative. 

Hence, before the 2013 general elections, there were 47 counties whose size/ boundaries were based on the Districts of Kenya. To clarify about the reforms of Kenya’s national administration, the districts were integrated into governments represented by county commissioners. Furthermore, the County governments are responsible for county legislation as stated in article 185 of the Constitution of Kenya.

In summary, here are the top 10 largest or biggest counties in Kenya according to geographical size.

Turkana – 77000 Km2

Marsabit – 70961.2 Km2

Wajir – 56, 685.8 Km2

Garissa – 45,720.2 Km2

Tana River – 35,375.8 Km2

Isiolo- 25,336.1 Km2

Kitui – 24, 385 Km2

Kajiado – 21,292.7 Km2

Samburu – 20,182.5 Km2

Narok – 17,921.5 Km2

About the Author

Sande Kennedy is the founder and Editor in Chief of & He is a Kenyan-based Internetprenuer,blogger Political Activist & informer who has an interest in politics, governance, corporate-fraud and human-interest. Kindly drop me a note if you feel aggrieved on any matter that you would want to be highlighted  WhatsApp: +254791890826 Read More about me here