Commercial Bank of Africa (CBA) is a financial services provider headquartered in NairobiKenya, the largest economy in the East African Community. CBA is licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya, the central bank and national banking regulator.

As of December 2015, the bank was one of the largest commercial banks in Kenya with assets of approximately US$2.166 billion (KES:215.6 billion), with shareholders’ equity of approximately US$217.83 million (KES:21.68 billion). It is the largest privately owned commercial bank in Kenya.


The bank was founded in 1962 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Soon, branches were opened in Nairobi & MombasaKenyaand in Kampala, Uganda. When Tanzania nationalised private banks in 1967, the bank moved its headquarters to Nairobi. Following political changes in Uganda in 1971, the bank sold its assets in that country.

At the beginning, CBA was owned by a consortium of financial institutions known as Société Financière pour les Pays d’Outre-Mer (SFOM), based in Switzerland. Original members of the consortium included Banque Nationale de Paris, Bank Bruxelles Lambert, Commerzbank, and Bank of America. In 1980, Bank of America acquired 84% shareholding, effectively buying out all the other SFOM partners. Sixteen per cent shareholding in CBA remained in the hands of Kenyan investors. During the 1980s Bank of America divested from the bank, putting 100% shareholding in CBA in the hands of Kenyan nationals.


Commercial Bank of Africa’s ownership is under a shareholding structure. The Kenyatta family controls 24.91 percent of CBA through an investment vehicle called Enke Investments Limited. The table below illustrates the shareholding in the company stock, as of December 2017.

RankName of OwnerPercentage Ownership
1Enke Investments Limited24.91
2Ropat Nominees Limited22.50
3Livingstone Registrars Limited19.90
4Yana Investments Limited11.14
5Ropat Trust Company Limited5.37
6Other Institutions & Individual16.18

Commercial Bank of Africa Group

Commercial Bank of Africa (Kenya) is a member of the CBA Group of companies. These include:


The Chairman of the board of directors is Desterio Oyatsi, one of the non-executive directors. Isaac Awoundo serves as the managing director.[1]

Other Executives Include:

  • Mr. Muhoho Kenyatta – Deputy Chairman
  • Mr. Isaac Awuondo – Group Managing Director
  • Mr. Martin Mugambi – Group Executive Director
  • Mr. Jeremy Ngunze – Chief Executive – Kenya
  • Mr. Stuart J Armitage – Director
  • Hon. Abdirahin Haithar Abdi – Director
  • Mr. Nicholas A. Nesbitt – Director
  • Mr. Nelson J.M Mainnah – Director
  • Mr. Mukesh K. R. Shah – Director

List Of All Commercial Bank of Africa Branch Codes in Kenya

Branch  ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Code  
HEAD OFFICE UPPER HILL ​​ ​​​​ 07000