Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA), is an agency of the government of Kenya that is responsible for the assessment, collection and accounting for all revenues that are due to government, in accordance with the laws of Kenya

KRA Logo
Agency overview
JurisdictionGovernment of Kenya
HeadquartersTimes Tower, Haile Selassie Avenue, NairobiKenya
Agency executivesAmbassador Francis Muthaura[1],
ChairmanJames Githii Mburu[1],
KRA Commissioner General
Parent agencyKenya Ministry of Finance


The headquarters of the agency are located in Times Tower, on Haile Selassie Avenue, in the central business district of Nairobi, the capital and largest city of Kenya.[2] The coordinates of KRA headquarters are:01°17’25.0″S, 36°49’26.0″E (Latitude:-1.290267; Longitude:36.823899)


The Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) was established by an Act of Parliament, Chapter 469 of the laws of Kenya, which became effective on 1 July 1995. The Authority is charged with collecting revenue on behalf of the Government of Kenya.

Organizational structure

The organization is divided into seven major departments, each headed by a commissioner:

  1. Customs & Border Control Department (C&BC)
  2. Domestic Taxes Department (DTD)
  3. Intelligence & Strategic Operations Department (I&SO)
  4. Investigations & Enforcement Department (I&E)
  5. Strategy, Innovation & Risk Management Department (SIRM)
  6. Corporate Support Services Department (CSS)
  7. Legal Services & Board Coordination Department (LS&BC)

In addition to the seven major departments, the Authority has the following four other departments to harmonize operations and efficiency.[2] (a) Transformation and Leadership Office (b) Kenya School of Revenue Administration (c) Internal Audit Department (d) Marketing & Communication Department.

To increase tax compliance percentages and encourage more people to file their taxes, the Kenya Revenue Authority has an elaborate online portal[4] that allows citizens to log in and either file tax returns, check their penalties[5] or apply for a certificate of tax compliance. This is in line with the Kenyan government’s efforts to automate service delivery through the e-Citizen initiative and avoid long, inconvenient physical queues.

Regional divisions

To ease tax assessment and collection and to take services closer to the people, the agency maintains six service regions as listed below:[2][6]

  1. North Rift Region, which is headquartered in Eldoret
  2. South Rift Region, which is headquartered in Nakuru.
  3. Western Region, which is headquartered in Kisumu.
  4. Southern Region, with headquarters in Mombasa.
  5. Northern Region, with headquarters in Embu.
  6. Central Region, which is headquartered in Nyeri.
  7. Nairobi Region, which is headquartered in Nairobi.


The Chairman of Kenya Revenue Authority is Francis Muthaura. The Commissioner General, serving in this capacity from 1 July 2019, is James Githii Mburu.[7]

Commissioner GeneralTerm StartTerm EndAppointed By
James Githii MburuMarch 2020June 2022Uhuru Kenyatta
Chairman of the BoardTerm StartTerm EndAppointed By
Edward SambiliMay 2018[8]Uhuru Kenyatta
Francis MuthauraMay 2018October 2019[8]Uhuru Kenyatta

Football club

The KRA owns a football club called Ushuru F.C., which competes in the Kenyan Premier League.[9]

Kenya School of Revenue Administration (KESRA-KRA)

Kenya School of Revenue Administration (KESRA) is the Kenya Revenue Authority’s premier training school specializing in Tax and Customs Administration, Fiscal Policy and Management. The School is one of the only four World Customs Organization (WCO) accredited Regional Training Centres (RTCs) in Africa.