You can control your history and other browsing data, like saved form entries.

Delete all your data or just some from a specific time

On Computer

What happens to your info

Data that can be deleted

Basic

  • Browsing history: Clearing your browsing history deletes the following:
    • Web addresses you’ve visited are removed from the History page.
    • Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
    • Address bar predictions for those websites are no longer shown.
  • Cookies and other site data
    • Cookies: Cookies are files created by websites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing information.
    • Site data: HTML5-enabled storage types including application caches, Web Storage dataWeb SQL Database data, and Indexed Database data.
    • Handlers. Chrome allows external applications and web services to open certain links. For example, certain links  can open a site like Gmail or a program like iTunes. The default action you set for certain types of link will be deleted
    • Media licenses: Licenses for HTML5 or Flash protected content, like movies or music that you’ve played or downloaded, are deleted.
  • Cached images and files: Chrome remembers parts of pages to help them open faster during your next visit. Text and images from pages you’ve visited in Chrome are removed.

Advanced

The “Advanced” section includes the basic data types, plus the following:Data that doesn’t get deleted

There are other types of data that are related to your behavior online. These other types of data can be deleted separately:

Delete your browsing data

If you sync a type of data, like history or passwords, deleting it on your computer will delete it everywhere it’s synced. It’ll be removed from other devices and your Google Account.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More .
  3. Click More tools  Clear browsing data.
  4. Choose a time range, like Last hour or All time.
  5. Select the types of information you want to remove.
  6. Click Clear data.

Note: If you delete cookies and have sync turned on, Chrome keeps you signed into your Google Account. Your cookies will be removed from other devices and your Google Account.

Delete individual items

Instead of deleting entire categories of your browsing data, you can pick items to delete:

Delete from one device

Deleting info from a device will delete it everywhere it’s synced. To delete the data from one device without removing it everywhere:

  1. Turn off sync on the device.
  2. Delete the data from the device.

On Android

What happens to your info

Data that can be deleted

Basic

  • Browsing history: Clearing your browsing history deletes the following:
    • Web addresses you’ve visited are removed from the History page.
    • Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
    • Address bar predictions for those websites are no longer shown.
  • Cookies and site data
    • Cookies: Cookies are files created by websites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing information.
    • Site data: HTML5-enabled storage types including application caches, Web Storage dataWeb SQL Database data, and Indexed Database data.
    • Media licenses: Licenses for HTML5 protected content, like movies or music that you’ve played or downloaded, are deleted.
  • Cached images and files: Chrome remembers parts of pages to help them open faster during your next visit. Text and images from pages you’ve visited in Chrome are removed.

Advanced

The “Advanced” section includes the basic data types, plus the following:

  • Saved passwords: Records of passwords you saved are deleted.
  • Autofill form data: Your Autofill entries are deleted, including addresses and credit cards. Cards from your Google Pay account aren’t deleted.
  • Site settings: Settings and permissions you give to websites are deleted. For example, if a site can run JavaScript, use your camera, or know your location.

Data that doesn’t get deleted

There are other types of data that are related to your behavior online. These other types of data can be deleted separately:

If you’re giving away your device, remember to delete your browsing data and then sign out of Chrome.

Delete your browsing data

If you sync a type of data, deleting it on your Android device will delete it everywhere it’s synced. It’ll be removed from other devices and your Google Account.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Chrome app .
  2. Tap More   Settings.
  3. Under “Advanced,” tap Privacy  Clear browsing data.
  4. Choose a time range, like Last hour or All time.
  5. Select the types of information you want to remove.
  6. Tap Clear data.

Delete individual items

Instead of deleting entire categories of your browsing data, you can pick items to delete:

Delete from one device

Deleting info from a device will delete it everywhere it’s synced. To delete the data from one device without removing it everywhere:

  1. Turn off sync on the device.
  2. Delete the data from the device.

ON iPhone & iPad

What happens to your info

Data that can be deleted

  • Browsing history: Clearing your browsing history deletes the following:
    • Web addresses you’ve visited are removed from the History page.
    • Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
    • Address bar predictions for those websites are no longer shown.
  • Cookies, site data:
  • Cached images and files: Chrome remembers parts of pages to help them open faster during your next visit. Text and images from pages you’ve visited in Chrome are removed.
  • Saved passwords: Records of passwords you saved are deleted.
  • Autofill data: All your Autofill entries and records of text you’ve entered on web forms are deleted.

Data that doesn’t get deleted

There are other types of data that are related to your behavior online. These other types of data can be deleted separately:

If you’re giving away your device, remember to delete your browsing data and then turn sync off in Chrome.

Delete your browsing data

If you sync a type of data, deleting it on your iPhone or iPad will delete it everywhere it’s synced. It’ll be removed from other devices and your Google Account.

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Chrome app .
  2. Tap More   History .
  3. At the bottom, tap Clear browsing data.
  4. Select the types of information you want to remove.
  5. Tap Clear browsing data  Clear browsing data.
  6. At the top right, tap Done.

Delete individual items

Instead of deleting entire categories of your browsing data, you can pick items to delete:

Delete from one device

Deleting info from a device will delete it everywhere it’s synced. To delete the data from one device without removing it everywhere:

  1. Turn off sync on the device.
  2. Delete the data from the device.

About the Author

Sande Kennedy is the founder and Editor in Chief of SandeKennedy.co.ke & Kenyans247.co.ke He is a Kenyan-based Internetprenuer,blogger Political Activist & informer who has an interest in politics, governance, corporate-fraud and human-interest. Kindly drop me a note if you feel aggrieved on any matter that you would want to be highlighted  Twitter: @nyosake , Instagram: @itssandekennedy WhatsApp: +254791890826 Read More about me here