Hon Bernard Otieno Okoth takes early lead as Kibra By-election goes on ODM is vigilant.

As voting continues Hon Bernard Otieno Okoth (Imran Okoth ) takes an early lead as Kiberians vow to show DP William Ruto Dust The Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted 24 candidates who are set to battle it out in the polls with ODM’s Imran Okoth, Jubilee’s McDonald Mariga and Eliud Owalo of ANC party being the popular candidates.


List of candidates set to participate in the Kibra-by-elections

As the D-day approaches, Kibera residents are eager to go the polls in what many are terming as the battle of the titans.

24 candidates are set to go head to head in the Kibra by-elections after the area Member of Parliament Ken Okoth succumbed to cancer a few months back.The Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted 24 candidates who are set to battle it out in the polls with ODM’s Imran Okoth, Jubilee’s McDonald Mariga and Eliud Owalo of ANC party being the popular candidates.Below is the full list of candidates cleared to run in the November 7 Kibra by-Election by IEBC:


It is do-or-die for top political parties fielding candidates in the Kibra by-election. The hotly contested by election has attracted 24 candidates.

Here are profiles of some of the candidates eyeing the seat.

Khamisi Butichi (Ford-Kenya)

Mr Butichi is contesting on Senator Moses Wetangula’s Ford-Kenya Party ticket. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology and MSc in construction engineering and management from the same institution.

Bernard Okoth (ODM)

Bernard ‘Imran’ Okoth is the younger brother of former MP Ken Okoth (deceased). Before joining politics, Bernard was his brother’s personal assistant and also served as the national constituency development fund manager.

MacDonald Mariga

MacDonald Mariga Wanyama is a retired Kenyan international who played as a defensive midfielder for the national team Harambee Stars. Mariga made history as the first Kenyan footballer to play in the Uefa Champions League.

Editar Ochieng, Ukweli Party

Ms Editar Ochieng, 30, is a civil right activist and the founder of the Feminists for Peace, Rights and Justice Centre.

Eliud Owalo (ANC)

Before joining Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) more than a month ago, Eliud Owalo was a strong member of the ODM party.

Mr Owalo who runs a management consultant firm in Nairobi also contented for ODM party nomination in 2017 but lost to the late Ken Okoth.

Malasen Hamida (United Green Movement)

She describes herself as Mama Mazingira and environmental defender. Ms Hamida who was born and raised in Kibra has a diploma in community development from the University of Nairobi.

Dr Noah Migudo Winja (Independent)

The lawyer and medic, who went into exile after the 1982 coup, lived and worked in Southern Africa and Denmark before returning to the country in 2002. He holds a masters in medicine and another in law.

Fransco Ojiambo (Party of Democratic Unity)

He is a businessman in Nairobi who for the last three elections vied for Member of County Assembly for Sarangombe ward in Kibra but lost.

Elijah Nyamwamu (National Rainbow Coalition—Kenya)

The Kibera businessman is an economist and a university lecturer and has operated a fleet of matatus, plying the Kibera route since 2004.

Kassim Abdul (The New Democrats)

He cofounded the first girls’ soccer team (The Kibera Girls’ Soccer Academy) in the urban slum of Kibera more than 10 years ago. He currently helps run two schools for young women, offering extra-curricular to promote gender equality.

Other candidates are

Anaciet Dorn (Democratic Party of Kenya),

Titus Mutinda (Republican Liberty Party),

Martin Andati (Modern Alliance Party),

Felix Anditi (Independent),

Ibrahim Kimorko (Roots Party),

Titus Mutinda (Republican Liberty Party),

Fridah Kerubo (Independent,

Mathew Musyoka (Independent),

Jared Nyakundi (National Liberal Party),

Emmanuel Owiti (Green Congress),

David Odanga (Independent),

Isaac Ogongo (Justice and Freedom party),

Shedrack Omondi (Independent),

Shem Ocharo (Muungano)

Abraham Okoth (Independent).


About the Author

Sande Kennedy is the founder and Editor in Chief of SandeKennedy.com & Kenyans247.com He is a Kenyan-based Internetprenuer,blogger Political Activist & informer who has an interest in politics, governance, corporate-fraud and human-interest. Kindly drop me a note if you feel aggrieved on any matter that you would want to be highlighted  WhatsApp: +254791890826 Read More about me here