Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sande KennedySande Kennedy


Consolidated Bank of Kenya branches codes 2019 and History full details

Consolidated Bank of Kenya commonly known as Consolidated Bank, is a commercial bank in Nairobi, Kenya, East Africa‘s largest economy. It is licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya.


Consolidated Bank is a medium-sized financial services provider in Kenya, focusing on meeting the banking needs of small and medium-sized enterprises (SME’s) in the country. As of December 2017, the Bank’s total asset valuation stood at about US$133.6 million (KES: 13.5 billion), with Shareholders’ Equity valued at about US$10.5 million (KES: 1.06 billion). As at December 2017, the Bank was rated number 33, by assets, out of 40 licensed banks in Kenya.


The Bank was incorporated in 1989, as a result of the merger of the following nine insolvent financial institutions:

  1. Jimba Credit Corporation Limited
  2. Union Bank of Kenya Limited
  3. Kenya Savings and Mortgages Limited
  4. Estate Finance Company of Kenya Limited
  5. Estate Building Society
  6. Business Finance Company Limited
  7. Citizen Building Society
  8. Nationwide Finance Company Limited
  9. Home Savings and Mortgages Limited

Consolidated Bank aims to meet the banking needs of both individuals and institutions. In the beginning, the institution was limited to collecting the debts of the failed legacy financial institutions. However, the Central Bank of Kenya, issued CBKL with a full commercial banking license in 2001.

With decades of banking experience and a special focus on SMEs, it is in a strong position to help growing businesses unlock their potential and sail through the complexities they may face.

End to end banking services include: current accounts, savings accounts, fixed and call deposits, loan and overdraft facilities, local and overseas money transfer services, and local and international trade finance. The bank is also active on the local inter-bank money market.


Consolidated Bank is fully owned by the Government with the majority shareholding in the Bank (85.8%) held by the National Treasury. The remaining shareholding is spread over twenty five (25) parastatals and other quasi government organizations as set out below.

RankName of OwnerPercentage Ownership
1National Treasury85.8
2National Social Security Fund5.0
3Kenya National Assurance 20012.4
4Kenya National Assurance Company Limited1.9
5Kenya Pipeline Company Limited1.6
6Kenya National Examination Council1.5
7Kenya Public Trustees1.5
8Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation1.4
9National Hospital Insurance Fund1.3
10Kenya Local Government Officers Superannuation Fund1.1
11Other Shareholders4.4

As of December 2018, Consolidated Bank maintains 17 branches in urban areas of Kenya.

The Consolidated Bank of Kenya Limited was chartered on 7th December 1989. The bank is fully maintained by the Government with the majority shareholding in the bank (78%) held by The National Treasury. Below is a full list of all Consolidated Bank of Kenya Branch Codes as of 2019.


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like

General News

Alleged NYS fraudster Senator Murkomen is burning the midnight oil to fool Kenyans that he is humble and in touch with hoi polloi even...


There’s immorality everywhere you look in Kenya these days. Because of bribes paid out to Communication Authority of Kenya (CAK) board members and senior...


Registered Voters RAILA FINAL TALLY UHURU FINAL TALLY Baringo County 232,258                       33,875                         160,782 Bomet County 322,012                       35,461                         225,900 Bungoma County...


Yes, some of you may call it stupidity. Clearly, the society we are currently living in seems to be crossing the lines. From Son playing...

Copyright © 2022 SandeKennedy.