Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sande KennedySande Kennedy


Central Bank of Kenya full details and history

The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) (SwahiliBanki Kuu ya Kenya) is the monetary authority of Kenya. Its head office is located in Nairobi. CBK was founded in 1966 after the dissolution of East African Currency Board (EACB). Dr. Patrick Ngugi Njoroge is current Governor of CBK and Sheila M’Mbijjewe is the Deputy Governor.

Organizational structure


The bank’s executive management team comprises the governor, deputy governors and heads of departments. The governor assumes the role of Chief Executive Officer of the bank and is therefore responsible for its overall management. The governor is also the bank’s official spokesperson.


The current governor of the bank is Patrick Ngugi Njoroge. Former governors of the Bank are:[1]

  • Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u (March 2007 – March 2015)
  • Dr. Andrew Mullei (March 2003 – March 2007)
  • Nahashon Nyagah (April 2001 – March 2003)
  • Micah Cheserem (July 1993 – April 2001)
  • Eric Cheruiyot Kotut (January 1988 – July 1993)
  • Philip Ndegwa (December 1982 – January 1988)
  • Duncan Ndegwa (May 1967 – December 1982)
  • Dr. Leon Baranski (May 1966 – May 1967)

Deputy governor

The current deputy governor is Sheila M’Mbijjewe. Former deputy governors include:

  • Dr. Haron Sirima (2011–2015)
  • Dr. Hezron Nyangito (2008–2011)
  • Jacinta Wanjala Mwatela (2004–2008), acting Governor 2006–2007
  • Edward C. Sambili (2001–2004)
  • Thomas Nzioki Kibua (1993–2001)
  • Wanjohi Muriithi (1991–1993)
  • Eliphaz Riungu (1988–1991)
  • Eric Cheruiyot Kotut(1984–1988)
  • Ahmed Abdallah (1967–1984) 

Members of the board

The current board of directors is as follows:

  • Mohammed Nyaoga – Chairman of the Board
  • Principal Secretary to the National Treasury
  • Dr. Patrick Njoroge – Governor
  • Nelius Kariuki – member
  • Rachel Dzombo – member
  • Ravi Ruparel – member
  • Samson Cherutich – member
  • Charity Kisotu – member


  • Governor’s Office
  • Banking Services
  • National Payments System and Risk Management
  • Research
  • Bank Supervision
  • Financial Markets
  • Currency Operations and Branch Administration
  • Strategic Management
  • Finance and IMS
  • Procurement and Logistics Services
  • Internal Audit
  • Human Resources
  • Kenya School of Monetary Studies

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like

General News

Alleged NYS fraudster Senator Murkomen is burning the midnight oil to fool Kenyans that he is humble and in touch with hoi polloi even...


There’s immorality everywhere you look in Kenya these days. Because of bribes paid out to Communication Authority of Kenya (CAK) board members and senior...


Registered Voters RAILA FINAL TALLY UHURU FINAL TALLY Baringo County 232,258                       33,875                         160,782 Bomet County 322,012                       35,461                         225,900 Bungoma County...


Yes, some of you may call it stupidity. Clearly, the society we are currently living in seems to be crossing the lines. From Son playing...

Copyright © 2022 SandeKennedy.